• University of Cambridge Featured Masters Courses
  • University of Leeds Featured Masters Courses
  • Goldsmiths, University of London Featured Masters Courses
  • Birkbeck, University of London Featured Masters Courses
  • Ulster University Featured Masters Courses
  • Swansea University Featured Masters Courses
  • Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine Featured Masters Courses
  • Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University Featured Masters Courses
King’s College London Featured Masters Courses
University of St Mark & St John Featured Masters Courses
Nottingham Trent University Featured Masters Courses
Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh Featured Masters Courses
Swansea University Featured Masters Courses

MSc Agroecology and Food Security

Course Description


Food security is currently of critical concern globally and the development of food systems that can provide food of adequate quantity and quality in a sustainable way is now a research and policy priority.

The Agroecology and Food Security MSc degree is designed to equip professionals and graduates with the necessary knowledge to critically analyse and assess the relationships between sustainable food production and management, agricultural systems, climate change and the environment, law and governance.


The Agroecology and Food Security MSc degree course is run through the Centre for Agroecology and Food Security (CAFS) whose mission is to create resilient food systems worldwide.

The course will provide you with the knowledge of the major agricultural production systems found in different parts of the world and the main theoretical approaches to understanding contemporary food systems.

In addition you will study subjects related to the four research themes of the Centre:

transition technologies: technologies that yield whilst ensuring food nutritional security and ecosystems health stabilisation,
agriculture: enhancing the ability of agriculture to withstand and respond to natural and man-made disasters,
fair routes to market: enhancing livelihoods through innovative approaches to production, distribution and marketing,
food and communities: exploring the cultural and political dimensions of food security and sovereignty.
The course covers a range of subject areas including:

food security;
agroecological production systems;
climate change: from science to sustainability;
transition technologies;
organic agriculture;
humanitarian theory and practice in disasters;
concepts and models of environmental hazards;
environmental energy management;
ecological management and assessment;
international trade law;
international environmental law;
governance for security in the developing world;
african governance and human development;
research design methods.
For each module, teaching normally takes the form of one week 'face-to-face' contact at the University (including lectures, workshops, seminars and exercises) followed by several weeks of directed and self directed study, which may be undertaken off-campus.

Visit the MSc Agroecology and Food Security page on the Coventry University website for more details!

Entry Requirements

At least a Second Class Honours degree in a relevant discipline; or other qualification (which may be an appropriate professional development qualification), or considerable relevant work experience.

Email Enquiry

Recipient: Coventry University
Insert previous message below for editing? 
You haven’t included a message. Providing a specific message means universities will take your enquiry more seriously and helps them provide the information you need.
Why not add a message here
* required field
Send a copy to me for my own records.
Email Sent

Share this page:

Cookie Policy    X