• University of Edinburgh Featured Masters Courses
  • Swansea University Featured Masters Courses
  • Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University Featured Masters Courses
  • University of York Featured Masters Courses
  • Leeds Beckett University Featured Masters Courses
  • Regent’s University London Featured Masters Courses
  • University of Glasgow Featured Masters Courses
  • University of Leeds Featured Masters Courses
University of Southampton Featured Masters Courses
University of Greenwich Featured Masters Courses
University of Bradford Featured Masters Courses
Southampton Solent University Featured Masters Courses
Cardiff University Featured Masters Courses

SpaceMaster-Erasmus Mundus Master in Space Science and Technology

Course Description

SpaceMaster provides top-class research and professional oriented modules in space science and technology for students from the whole world. The educational cooperation is supported by scientific and industrial space organisations, thus providing direct contacts with professional research and industry.

Students receive Master Diploma certificates from two European universities.
The Course Consortium consists of six European universities, two Third-Country universities and five associated members.

European universities:

Luleå University of Technology, Sweden (LTU)

Julius-Maximilians Universität Würzburg, Germany (JMUW)

Cranfield University, UK(CU)

Aalto University, Finland (AALTO)

CzechTechnical University, Prague, Czech Republic (CTU)

Université Paul Sabatier-Toulouse III, France (UPS)

Third-Country universities:

The University of Tokyo, Graduate School of Science, Japan (UT)

Utah State University, USA(USU)

During two years of full time studies the students obtain cross-disciplinary theoretical knowledge and practical skills by using the available space scientific facilities such as satellites, rockets, landers, stratospheric balloons, radar systems, robots and space instruments.

The Course has a common first year for all students. The first semester takes place at JMUW. The second semester takes place at LTU. During the third semester the students are distributed among the six European universities. During the forth semester the students perform their Master thesis projects at six European universities, two Third-Country universities and associate members.The thesis work is strongly connected to the current research and performs usually in collaboration with the space industry.

The Erasmus Mundus scholarships from EACEA are available for EU and non-EU students. The Erasmus mobility grants are available during the second year. Additional scholarships are available from the Swedish Institute.

The Course is given in English.


Luleå University of Technology, Department of Computer Science, Electrical and Space Engineering, Sweden (Space and Atmospheric Science; Space Technology and Instrumentation)

Julius-Maximilians Universität Würzburg, Germany (Automation, Control and Communication of Space Robotics)

Cranfield University, UK (Dynamics and Control of Systems and Structures)

Aalto University, Finland (Space Robotics and Automation Technology)

Czech Technical University, Prague, Czech Republic (Space Automation and Control)

Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse, France (Space Technique and Instrumentaiton; Astrophysics, Space Science and Planetology)

Entry Requirements

Successful completion of a basic engineering program or a Bachelor´s degree with a minimum of 180 ECTS in the areas of physics, space physics, astronomy, engineering, electronics, mechatronics, space technology, computer science or equivalent. A minimum of 22.5 ECTS in mathematics at the university level is required. Proven language proficiency in English, can for example be shown by an international English test as TOEFL or IELTS. See: www.spacemaster.eu and http://www.ltu.se/edu/master?l=en

Email Enquiry

Recipient: Luleå University of Technology

Insert previous message below for editing? 
You haven’t included a message. Providing a specific message means universities will take your enquiry more seriously and helps them provide the information you need.
Why not add a message here
* required field
Send a copy to me for my own records.

Your enquiry has been emailed successfully

Share this page:

Cookie Policy    X