University of Leeds Featured Masters Courses
St George’s, University of London Featured Masters Courses
University of Portsmouth Featured Masters Courses
FindA University Ltd Featured Masters Courses
Erasmus University Rotterdam Featured Masters Courses

Course content

The Community Specialist Practitioner course aims to promote the evolution of an adaptable, reflexive and responsive practitioner who promotes the highest standards of client health care. The course incorporates the key principles of specialist practice within the domains of clinical practice; care and programme management; clinical practice development and clinical practice leadership. The course comprises of 50% theory and 50% practice. Assessment methods vary and include: examinations, essays, presentations, business report, and practice assessment.


The curriculum design facilitates development of a wide range of learning experiences to encourage lifelong, independent learning. These approaches include reflection, critical reading, problem-based activities, directed study, lectures, discussion groups, role play and eLearn (a virtual learning environment). Fifty per cent of learning will take place within a practice placement.

Various modes of assessment are included within the programme. These include assignment essays, case studies, written and oral examinations.


The aim of this course is to prepare and develop registered nurses and midwives to meet the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) professional standards for specialist community practitioner (General Practice Nursing or Community Children's Nursing or Nursing in the Home) (UKCC 2001) and the 'Standards for Approval of Higher Education Institutions and Programmes' (ENB 1997). These standards have been accepted by the Nursing and Midwifery Council from April 2002.

The course is available full-time over 40 weeks or it can be accessed as a part-time course over two years. The course will be delivered at the main university campus site in Preston, but fifty per cent of learning will take place within a practice placement.

The course incorporates the key principles of specialist practice and is grouped into four domains:

  • Clinical Practice
  • Care and Programme Management
  • Clinical Practice Development
  • Clinical Practice Leadership

This course meets the following core Knowledge Skills Framework (KSF) dimensions:

  • Communication
  • Personal and People Development
  • Health Safety and Security
  • Service Improvement
  • Quality
  • Equality and Diversity

In addition individual pathways will meet a number of elements within the following specific dimensions, for example:

  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Information and Knowledge


Throughout this course you will be working with vulnerable groups of individuals including children. In order to ensure that the Faculty of Health and Wellbeing offers places on their programmes to the most suitable candidates you will all be required to obtain a satisfactory Enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service clearance (formerly termed CRB). The Faculty of Health and Wellbeing will be able to guide you through this process once you have been successfully offered a conditional place at the University. It is important to note that any unsatisfactory Enhanced DBS clearance may result in the offer of your place being withdrawn even if you have already started your course.

Visit the Community Specialist Practitioner - PGDip page on the University of Central Lancashire website for more details!




Enquire About This Course

Recipient: University of Central Lancashire

* required field

Please correct the errors indicated below to send your enquiry

Your enquiry has been emailed successfully