De Montfort University Featured Masters Courses
The American University of Paris Featured Masters Courses
University of East London Featured Masters Courses
Staffordshire University Featured Masters Courses
University of Portsmouth Featured Masters Courses

Course content

MSc in Advanced Clinical Practice approved and supported through Health Education England working across the West Midlands and the West Midlands Universities Advanced Practice Group.

This award enables the development of higher levels of knowledge and skills in Advanced Clinical Practice at the depth and breadth appropriate to Master’s level work. By using a blended learning approach, the award creates a practice-focused, student-centred, flexible programme that develops student capabilities to:
-Challenge Advanced Clinical Practice
-Engage in independent evidence-based decision making
-Determine creative and innovative solutions to practice issues
-Develop analytical and intellectual skills at Masters level

This part time three year programme comprises of both practice and academic based learning. The clinical focus of the award is a direct result of the continuing need to develop the role of Advanced Clinical Practitioner.

The expanding clinical role is assisted by linking the student with a clinical preceptor who is an expert in the student's clinical speciality. The student will also receive support for personal and professional development from a senior clinical lead of the same profession who acts as a mentor for the duration of the award.

Course outline

This award is designed to offer you a flexible programme of learning. The programme includes 150 credits of Award core modules and 30 credits of Award option modules. The option modules provide opportunity for your development in professional studies and/or clinical care in areas that meet the learning outcomes and clinical competencies of the Award, and you will normally study modules in the following sequence when exploring these themes:

The award has three potential exit points: The award is flexible in that it allows you study modules in the PgC and PgD in any order, however you cannot be awarded a PgC or PgD until the modules for each stage have been completed.
-The postgraduate certificate (PgC) in Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Decision Making can be awarded following successful completion of PgC modules to the value of 60 level 7 credits.
-The postgraduate diploma (PgD) in Advancing Clinical Practice can be awarded following successful completion of PgC and PgD modules to the value of 120 level 7 credits or 30 level 6 credits (Independent Supplementary Prescribing ONLY) and 90 level 7 credits.
-Once you have successfully completed the Postgraduate diploma, you are eligible to register for the Masters project or dissertation. The award of Master of Science (MSc) in Advanced Clinical Practice will be awarded following successful completion of modules to the value of 30 level 6 credits and 150 level 7 credits or 180 level 7 credits.

In order to progress from one stage of an award to another (i.e. PgC to PgD, PgD to Masters), you must complete the proceeding stage although you are free to study modules can be undertaken in any order.

Employment opportunities

This award will equip you with the skills and knowledge to look for a position as an Advanced Clinical Practitioner in NHS or Independent Heath Provision. However the course does not provide automatic qualification for employment in these roles as some practitioner roles may require specialist experience and knowledge outside the remit of the course content. However, it should provide a stepping stone to these positions as they occur.

Other admission requirements

Entry onto the Award must comply with the University requirements for admission to Postgraduate awards. Applicants must meet the following criteria: Applicants should normally hold an honours degree of a UK University, or any other qualification deemed to be equivalent to a UK honours degree.
For those whose first language is not English you need to demonstrate a minimum of:
-A minimum score of 7.0 in IELTS (International English Language Testing System) as administered by the British Council in most countries.
-A minimum score of 550 in TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) or 213 in the computer-based test. [TOEFL results must include a minimum score of 4.5 for the TWE (Test of Written English) or Cambridge Proficiency Grade C.

Entry onto the Award Pathway must comply with the University requirements for admission to Postgraduate Awards. Applicants should normally hold an honours degree (minimum 2:2) from a UK University, or any other qualification deemed to be equivalent to a UK honours degree at this level.
If an applicant does not have an honours degree she/he may still be admitted if he/she has significant appropriate experience and can provide evidence of ability to undertake the course successfully and benefit from it. A professional portfolio indicating achievements is an essential tool for this purpose.

Visit the Advanced Clinical Practice page on the Staffordshire University website for more details!





Enquire About This Course

Recipient: Staffordshire University

* required field

Please correct the errors indicated below to send your enquiry

Your enquiry has been emailed successfully

FindAMasters. Copyright 2005-2018
All rights reserved.

Let us know you agree to cookies

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By continuing, we'll assume that you're happy to receive all cookies on this website. To read our privacy policy click here