Shortlisted nominations

We'd like to say a big thank you to all those who submited their nominations for Postgrad Awards 2021. We've been overwhelmed with the number of entries, each with their own unique qualities and inspiring stories.

All nominations we received were of an extremely high standard, which gives our judging panel a very difficult job to do when it comes to choosing the winning submissions. In the meantime, we're delighted to announce the following shortlist - congratulations to all the successful nominees:

Masters Student of the Year
Alice Cooper Durham University
Anna Morros Nuevo University of Lincoln
Emma Wall The University of Sheffield
Golla Prudvhi Central University of Tamil Nadu
Lilli Waples University of Bristol
Michael Batterley Keele University
Rosie Crawford Cranfield University
PhD Student of the Year
Daisy Shearer University of Surrey
Diana Marta Cruz de Oliveira University of Birmingham
Helen Kuht University of Leicester
Holly R Keir University of Dundee
Jesús Manuel Muñoz Tejeda Imperial College London
Muhsin Yesilada University of Bristol
Toluwalase Awoyemi University of Oxford
Yizhou Yu University of Cambridge
Masters Teacher of the Year
Avtar Matharu University of York
Emma Henderson Keele University
Phil Parkes Cardiff University
Robert Gibb Birmingham City University
Sarah Knuth Durham University
Sarah Williams University of Cumbria
Will Mason The University of Sheffield
PhD Supervisor of the Year
Edwin van Teijlingen Bournemouth University
Emma Rees University of Chester
Luis Miguel Martins University of Cambridge
Malcolm F White University of St Andrews
Paul McGonigal Durham University
Rajinder Dudrah Birmingham City University
William Whittow Loughborough University
Best PG Marketing and Recruitment Campaign
2020 Postgraduate Recruitment Campaign Anglia Ruskin University
Open to Excellence Campaign NYU Stern School of Business
See Law from Different Perspectives Campaign University of Aberdeen, School of Law
Climate Emergency Environmental Scholarship & Tree Planting Campaign University of Lincoln
Best PG Wellbeing Initiative
PGR Wellbeing Initiative Coventry University
Wellbeing Fortnight - including the mindfulness walk Loughborough University
Postgrad Mental Health Newcastle University Students' Union
Residence Life Support Officers University of Exeter
The Researcher Toolkit University of Plymouth

What happens next?

We have contacted all of our shortlisted nominees and will announce the winners by Monday 7 June 2021.

Follow us across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to keep up to date with this year’s Postgrad Awards. We will be announcing the winners across all of these channels, and on and

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact the Postgrad Awards team at